Always wear your Crown

It’s been a long time since I’ve done a review like this. A couple of years actually. But recent events and people have inspired me to continue writing. I thought this blog was dead to me. I thought my attitude had changed towards fashion.

As I said, recently things have changed, and now I am back.

I would like to give a shout out to Dolce and Gabbana’s Fall 2017 Men’s Runway show. Over the top in the most perfect way is how I describe it. Who doesn’t want to wear a crown?

But the most amazing thing I have seen, is the abundance of Asian models on the scene. As a halfie myself, I’ve always had trouble finding people I can relate to in fashion. They always seemed to be the atypical Eastern European or Brazilian on the runway. Eastern Europeans have always had the avante-garde ‘fashion’ look, while Brazilians bottled up all the sexy.

So it is a pleasant surprise to see the industry changing and moving forward. The last time Asian models had a huge moment was Daul Kim in 2011 I believe. Karl Lagerfeld made her the face of Chanel until her unfortunate suicide. Since then, it was a while before Asians had a shot to grace the runways and actually make a name for themselves.

Fast forward a little bit, and the Hallyu Wave(push of Korean Pop Culture) hit the world, and Chinese have become the biggest purchaser of Luxury Goods. It makes sense that imagery should reflect this. We are in an era of globalization, and it is beautiful. It’s going to be amazing to see what’s next in fashion. Who will become a household name? I have a lot of research to do, since I’ve been out of the fashion game since 2012(?) or so.

First things first, I’m going to visit my bestest friend in the whole world. She’s a Product Developer at Yves Saint Laurent so I can’t wait to see all the bright lights and pretty people in Paris.

What do you have to say?

